Saturday, June 5, 2010

My first cover from Trinidad & Tobago ...

I'm glad to share with you my first cover from the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago (特立尼达和多巴哥共和国). Thank you very much Braz Vaidya for this nice cover ;-) This cover took 25 days to reach Singapore!

This cover was franked with a stamp, which was issued in 2007, from a set of 4 stamps to commemorate the Centennial of the Re-opening of the Red House. The Red House is the seat of Parliament in Trinidad and Tobago. The original building was destroyed in 1903 and was rebuilt in 1907. The Red House is located centrally within the capital city Port of Spain.

Trinidad and Tobago is an archipelagic state in southern Caribbean, near Venezuela. It consists of two main islands, Trinidad (larger) and Tobago (smaller). Trinidad and Tobago was a Spanish colony from the times of Christopher Columbus to 1802, when it was ceded to Britain (English-speaking Caribbean country). The country obtained independence in 1962.

* The islands in the Caribbean region are also called the West Indies because when Christopher Columbus landed there in 1492 he believed that he had reached the Indies (in Asia).

No comments:

Post a Comment