Thursday, June 3, 2010

3rd June 1960

Today i like to share with you some old FDCs from Singapore as today (3rd June) was the National Day (邦庆日) of the State of Singapore (新嘉坡自治邦). Please note the wording "State of Singapore" (not "Singapore" nor "Republic of Singapore") on the stamps.

But why 3rd June and NOT 9th Aug as celebrates every years?

In May 1959, Singapore's first general election was held to choose 51 representatives to the first fully elected Legislative Assembly. The PAP won 43 seats, gleaning 53.4 per cent of the total votes.

On June 3, the new constitution confirming Singapore as a self-governing state was brought into force by the proclamation of the Governor, Sir William Goode, who became the first Yang di-Pertuan Negara (Head of State). Two days later, the first Government of the State of Singapore was sworn in, with Mr Lee Kuan Yew as Singapore's first Prime Minister. In other words, Singapore was granted full internal self-government on 3rd June 1959, but the British colonial administration still controlled external relations and shared control of several key internal policies such as internal security.

Singapore's merger with the Federation of Malaya to form Malaysia on 16 Sept 1963.

Singapore became an independent Republic after separation from Malaysia on 9 August 1965. Hence, 9th Aug is the National Day (or Independence Day, 国庆日/独立日) of the Republic of Singapore (新加坡共和国).

No comments:

Post a Comment