Saturday, October 2, 2010

Mauritian rupee ...

The rupee (ISO 4217 code: MUR) is the currency of Mauritius. It is divided into 100 cents. The rupee was chosen due to the massive inflow of Indian rupees following Indian immigration to Mauritius.

In 1987, a new series of coins was introduced which, for the first time, did not feature the portrait of the monarch (Mauritius did not become a republic until 1992) but that of Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam.

Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam (शिवसागर रामगुलाम) was the Prime Minister of Mauritius from 1968 until 1982. He is known as the "Father of the Nation". As decolonisation swept the third world, he led his country to independence from the United Kingdom in 1968. He was Governor General from 1983 until his death in 1985.

No comments:

Post a Comment