Saturday, July 17, 2010

Coins from Georgia ...

* Obverse

* Reverse

Georgia's currency unit is Lari (GEL), which is divided into 100 Tetri.

On 5 Apr 1993, Georgia replaced the Russian ruble with Kupon Lari at par. This currency consisted only of banknotes, had no subdivisions and suffered from hyperinflation.

On 2 Oct 1995, the government of Eduard Shevardnadze replaced the provisional coupon currency with the Lari, at a rate of one million to one. It has remained fairly stable since then.

Coins are issued in denominations of 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 & 50 Tetri, as well as 1 & 2 Lari.

* Obverse - The Borjgali (a Georgian symbol of the Sun with seven rotating wings) over the Christian Tree of Life.

* Reverse - 1 Tetri (vine tendril), 5 Tetri (golden statue of lion from 3rd millennium B.C. barrow of the Alazani valley) & 10 Tetri (Saint George riding the lion, 11th century silver plate gilded with gold from the Gelati Monastery).

No comments:

Post a Comment